

Contact: Art Nadler, Public Information Officer (702) 486-1100 x1139 or (775) 688-1141 x1139

## Two Alleged Unlicensed Contractors Cited In Northern Nevada Stings

**Jose E. Valverde** was advertising in a local Reno newspaper that he had 15 years experience in painting and also on Craigslist for day labor. He thought he had all his bases covered - except one. He didn't have a Nevada State Contractors Board C-4 painting license. So instead of getting the green light on a \$2,100 painting bid he submitted to an NSCB investigator, Valverde got a criminal citation for *contracting without a license*.

**Aubrey Goodwin** of Reno claimed he had 41 years experience in painting. He proudly advertised his business in a local newspaper as "Painting by Experienced Professionals." Unfortunately, Goodwin also didn't have a C-4 painting license, and he was quickly issued a criminal citation by an NSCB investigator for *contracting without a license*.

"These stings are done in an effort to free our neighborhoods of unlicensed contractors, who prey on innocent consumers," said Margi Grein, Executive Officer of the Nevada State Contractors Board. "Consumers need to be careful before inviting a contractor into their home. Always check out their license first.

"Unlicensed contractors can cost consumers thousands of dollars. They carry no insurance, are not bonded and have not met any standards of the trade they may be performing."

Contracting without a license in Nevada is a misdemeanor for the first offense, a gross misdemeanor for the second offense and a Class E felony for the third offense. Homeowners who use unlicensed contractors are not eligible for the Residential Recovery Fund, and by law their contracts are null and void.

The NSCB urges consumers to follow these simple tips when dealing with a contractor:

- Hire only licensed contractors. Ask to see their NSCB license.
- Don't rush into decisions or hire someone without checking out potential contractors.
- Be especially wary when approached by someone offering door-to-door home improvements.
- Verify the contractor's license by checking online at: www.nscb.state.nv.us or calling: (702) 486-1100 in Southern Nevada, or (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada.
- Ensure the contractor is properly licensed for the work you want done on your home.
- Limit your down payment or deposit to 10 percent of the total contract.
- Don't pay cash without obtaining signed receipts, and don't let the payments get ahead of the work.